top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJerry Gill

Multi-Version Bacon Treat

It’s almost July and that is Deli Sandwich Month. I decided to share an open faced sandwich from Vic Challenger’s Incredibly Delicious Recipes for Bacon Lovers. Like Vic Challenger I have a strong love of bacon. Here I’ve added some possible customization that isn’t in the book. I regularly play with food tweaks and I’ve tried a few things since I wrote the book.



Open Face Bacon Kraut Sandwich


Ingredients

1 slice rye bread

3+ sliced bacon cooked

1 tbs sauerkraut

1 tsp French dressing

1 slice Swiss cheese (or 2 tbs grated)

4 slices/rounds of bread & butter pickles

(You can substitute other types of pickle but b&b are best!)


Directions

- Cook bacon - bake or fry, slices or crumbles

- Toast rye in skillet using plenty butter

- Spread French dressing on toast

- Spread sauerkraut on toast

- Add bacon and cheese

- Top with bread & butter pickles



Customize: 1. Swap French for Russian dressing. 2. I sometimes swap sauerkraut with kimchee, but that may be an acquired taste. 3. Use Gouda or Monterey Jack cheese. Personally, I don’t like cheddar with this. 4. Make appetizers - quarter toast and prepare. A toothpick through pickle into toast can help hold things together to pick up.


Above is how the recipe appears in the book. Here are some additional tweaks to customize according to taste. I’ve tried and like all of these but they definitely depend on personal taste.


1. Use dill pickles in place of bread and butter (still my favorite).

2. Add more meat - I can vouch for deli ham or turkey breast or both

3. Sandwich is delicious with bread, no toasting required.

4. To begin your masterpiece, spread horseradish sauce on bread or toast (to taste)

5. Finely chop jalapeno pepper slices, black olives, onions or combo and sprinkle spoonful over sandwich.

6. Dressing is a matter of taste. I’ve tried blue cheese and Russian - French still my fav with this sandwich.

7. Add sliced mushrooms or avocado - both are good, my preference is mushroom

8. Sea salt and black pepper

9. Anise - when I add this, I add a lot; I love licorice flavor with most anything.

10. Use pre cooked bacon, pork or turkey are both tasty.


I didn’t add strips of bacon on sample illustration. I made my own “soft” bacon bits, I dice a strip or two of bacon. Boil five minutes. This insures it is cooked but it is still soft. Lift out of water with strainer and let drain, Then cook in skillet 1-2 minutes. Time is not as important as how it looks. Time in skillet adds flavor and color. I stop before it gets crisp.



Vic Challenger’s Incredibly Delicious Recipes for Bacon Lovers is currently available only on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01D3UM4KM



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page